Initial Thoughts on the Packers Opener
I had figured on this game as a loss, but during the day today I read that NFL.coms analyst predicted a Packer victory and illustrated his reasons why. They were somewhat convincing.The most convincing part was that Delhomme is really (so far) a one-year wonder. He wasn't gangbusters last year until the very end of the season. Also, Carolina's offensive line is banged up and some players are missing from last year. Also, they lost key people in the secondary.
That got me thinking, but I STILL thought the Pack would likely lose in the highly-charged atmosphere of opening night on MNF.
Early on, the Packers demonstrated that Carolina could not stop the Green Bay running attack, and sure enough, they did not. GB ran 47 times.
The blitzing seemed to work tonight, but I'm not sure that it will work all season like this. Like I said, Delhomme may turn out to be an average at best QB.
If not for a questionable facemask penalty against Diggs (or what is Barnett?), Carolina would not have scored their first TD. Also, if Carrol does not blow a coverage late in the game, Carolina doesn't score at all.
The defense rattled Delhomme, making him throw off-target often, leave the pocket early, and generally panic. Peyton Manning won't be so easily intimidated. The two turnovers they forced were huge, they got 14 points off of them.
I'm suprised and happy. We're at mid-season form (mostly). I'm thinking that Carolina is not as good as I thought, in which case I would have called this game as a toss up.
But let's face it right here and now, ...while they don't air it and get yards in big chunks, their offense is awesome. There seems to be nothing they can't do, ...they can run, go deep, and most of all - control the ball.
This is a big win, but it comes at a price.
Grady Jackson - knee sprain
Najah - hamstring


<< Home