My Prediction on the Kerry/Intern Thing
Unlike most analysis that I've read, I do not think Kerry will try to cover this up. If he does, he really is an idiot and deserves to lose.Now, I don't know what the specific details are, of course, almost no one does know. But if this affair happened 4 or more years ago, he should just come out and fess up.
If the affair is/was ongoing until very recently, then that's a different story.
People can forgive a man who made a mistake or two. But they have a harder time forgiving a man who doesn't stop making those mistakes, harming his family in the process.
My prediction is that they will claim (possibly truthfully) that it was an old affair, it's over, he made a mistake, his wife knows about it, and he wants everyone to respect their privacy on the subject. If he does this, and it seems he is telling the truth, then I don't think it hurts him enough to not nominate him.
He's sacrificed too much, including his integrity (what there is of it), his beliefs (if he really has any), and a lot of his money (paramount) to be president. He's not going to go down over an intern. I think he's smart enough to know he can get away with it if he's honest. And if he does get away with it, he can thank Clinton for softening us all up.
UPDATE: Looks like I'm too late. Kerry was on Imus this morning and denied it. Said he's not gonna talk about it. Very dismissive.
Like Imus said, if he lied, he's done.
<< Home